Australian Model Railway Association NSW Inc.

Return to the home page Find out more about AMRA NSW Read all about our huge annual model railway exhibition Find where AMRA NSW is located Read about how AMRA NSW got where it is today Read about the layouts at the AMRA NSW clubrooms See some of the features on the site Find out what's on at AMRA NSW Go to other sites of interest

Exhibition 2009

Each year, the Exhibition awards prizes for various aspects of the event: modelling competition, layout awards, popular votes and of course the guessing competition. In 2009 they were as follows:

Modelling Competition Results

Scratchbuilt Locomotives

  1. N Scale 17 Class Locomotive, 91 points, James Sanders
  2. N Scale FP1 Pay Bus, 87 points, Graeme Goodsell
  3. O Scale NSWGR 50 Class Locomotive, 86 points, Colin Shepherd

Scratchbuilt Rolling Stock - Nil entries

Scratchbuilt Lineside Structure

  1. N Scale Molong Barracks, 97 points, Graeme Goodsell
  2. N Scale Yass Town Out of Shed, 90 points, James Sanders
  3. O Scale Kiama Fire Station, 52 points, Bruce Harris

Kitbased Motive Power

  1. HO Scale 81 Class Locomotive, 89 points, Mike Crompton

Kitbased Rolling Stock

  1. HO Scale HTV2000 Test Vehicle, 85 points, Mike Crompton
  2. HO Scale NHSH Coal Hopper, 78 points, John Turnbull
  3. O Scale Sydney Suburban Electric Power Car, 59 points, Lance Pickering

Kitbased Lineside Structure - Nil entries

School Students Encouragement Award - Nil entries

President's Cup - N Scale 17 Class Locomotive, 91 points, James Sanders

Exhibit Awards

Best Layout -Stringybark Creek - Aus7 Modellers Group (O Scale)

Australian Prototype - Private  - Stringybark Creek - Aus7 Modellers Group (O Scale)

Australian Prototype - Club - Dungog – North Shore Railway Modellers Association (HO Scale)

Overseas Prototype - Private - Plainview - Viv Farrow (On30 Scale)

Overseas Prototype - Club - Coffs Harbour - Coffs Harbour Railway Modellers (HO Scale)

Best Commercial Exhibit - Balmain Drawing Board

Highly Commended: - Galong (HO Scale)

AMRA/HMRS Award Exhibitors Choice - Smaldon Curve – Geoff Small (HO Scale)

Sydney N Scale MRC Award - Gold River – Pacific Northwest Group (N Scale)
Best N Scale Layout

Hannah Kelly Memorial Award - South Creek – NSW N Scale Group (N Scale)
Best Australian Scenery

Iron Horse Hobbies Award - DualtraiN - Darling Downs Model Railway Club (N Scale)
Best Proprietary Layout

Larmour Family "Wombat" Award - Leonville  - Leon Sawyer (G Scale)
Best Childrens Layout

Most Popular Exhibit Vote - Coffs Harbour - Coffs Harbour Railway Modellers (HO Scale)
Prize B Wick - (Punchbowl Hobbies train set)

Guessing Competition

  1. R McAlpine - (Layout and train set)
  2. J Francis - (Auscision NHFF Coal Hoppers) Donated by Auscision
  3. D Cherry - (Flying Scotsman Train Set) Donated by Hobbyco
  4. B Mackie - (Austrains Ghan NR Locomotive) Donated by Austrains
  5. H Caridi - (Trainorama 44 Class Locomotive) Donated by Tom’s Hobbies-Trainorama
  6. T Davis - (Thomas Train Set) Donated by Hobbyco
  7. J Bain – (On Track Models Louvre Vans) Donated by On Track Models
  8. Harley – (Australian Railway Detail Photos Vol 1 – 5) Donated by Keiren Ryan Models
  9. Bassett – (Sheep Sound Effects Module) Donated by Gwydir Valley Models
  10. T Fraser – ($50 Gigt Voucher) Donated by Iron Horse Hobbies
  11. N Bowmer – ($50 Gift Voucher) Donated by Kerroby Models
  12. C Buxton – (Eureka CHG Brake Van) Donated by Eureka Models
  13. N Staffa – (Neon Signs) Donated by Gwydir Valley Models
  14. S Pieri – (43ft Container Wagon) Donated by Frate-N
  15. P Stock – (Train Storage Box) Donated by Auscision
  16. G Beach - (Train Storage Box) Donated by Auscision
  17. S Smith – (Jigsaw Puzzle) Donated by Trains, Planes and Automobiles
  18. Geoff & Ann – (Pack of 20ft Containers) Donated by Auscision
  19. N Robinson - (Pack of 20ft Containers) Donated by Auscision
  20. M Wilson – (2 Model Cars) Donated by Model Railroad Craftsman
  21. Wilson – (DVD – Out and About) Donated by Frate-N
  22. D Barrard – (Roll of Track Underlay) Donated by J&K Hobbies - Trackrite
  23. Ewan – (Spirit of Progress Train Pack for MS Train Simulator) Donated by Team Alco
  24. A Jones – (DVD – The Golden Thread) Donated by Train Pictures
  25. J Francis – (DVD – The Train Place Model Trains Vol 1) Donated by Train Pictures
  26. G Charlwood – (DVD – Railmotor 2000 Class) Donated by Train Pictures
  27. J Hallett – (DVD – Mary Valley Heritage Railway) Donated by Train Pictures
  28. F Cuthill – (DVD – Steam Engine Driver for a Day) Donated by Train Pictures
  29. B Slender – (DVD – Siberian Experience) Donated by Train Pictures
  30. K Bowman – (DVD – The Railway Children) Donated by Train Pictures
  31. P O’Brien – (DVD – Trains in Action Vol 1) Donated by Train Pictures
  32. J Monecas - (DVD – Trains in Action Vol 2) Donated by Train Pictures
  33. D Bruce – (DVD – Trains in Action Vol 3) Donated by Train Pictures
  34. B Coppock – ( Set of 4 Glass Alco Mugs) Donated by Alco - World

home | news | about us | exhibition | find us | layouts | features | calendar | links

AMRA NSW is dedicated to promoting the hobby of model railways throughout New South Wales.
These pages last updated 16 June, 2017 by Damien George.