Australian Model Railway Association NSW Inc.

Return to the home page Find out more about AMRA NSW Read all about our huge annual model railway exhibition Find where AMRA NSW is located Read about how AMRA NSW got where it is today Read about the layouts at the AMRA NSW clubrooms See some of the features on the site Find out what's on at AMRA NSW Go to other sites of interest

Exhibition 2006

Each year, the Exhibition awards prizes for various aspects of the event: modelling competition, layout awards, popular votes and of course the guessing competition. In 2006 they were as follows:

Modelling Competition Results

Scratchbuilt Locomotives

  1. NSWR X10 class O Scale 74 points Christopher Gate
  2. NSWR D50 class O Scale 72 points Christopher Gate
  3. NSWR Z26 class N Scale 67 points James Sanders

Scratchbuilt Rolling Stock

  1. NSWGR ICV O Scale 93 points Trevor Hodges
  2. Container Wagon NQIY HO Scale 91 points Mic Wade
  3. Container Wagon NQIW HO Scale 91 points Mic Wade

Scratchbuilt Lineside Structure

  1. Molong Railway Station N Scale 90 points Graeme Goodsell

Kitbased Locomotive

  1. NSWR 40 class HO Scale 77 points Chris Larmour
  2. QR Diesel HO Scale 68 points Matthew Joiner
  3. 3 FP45 Locos N Scale 65 points Rob Johnson

Kitbased Rolling Stock

  1. Guard Van HO Scale 89 points Aaron Denning
  2. Louvre Van HO Scale 88 points Aaron Denning
  3. NHSH Coal Hopper HO Scale 64 points Mic Wade

Kitbased Lineside Structure - No entries

School Students Encouragement Award - Nil qualifications

President's Cup - Molong Railway Station Graeme Goodsell

Exhibit Awards

Best Layout - Stringybark Creek - Aus 7 Modellers Group (O Scale)

Australian Prototype - Private Time and Patience - Peter Lewis (HO Scale)

Australian Prototype - Club Dungog - North Shore Railway Modellers Association (HO Scale)

Overseas Prototype - Private Kentucky Division Oakdale - Ken Davies (N Scale)

Overseas Prototype - Club Dawson's Creek - Pacific Northwest Rail Services (N Scale)

Best Commercial Exhibit Aucision Models

Norman Read O Gauge Award
Stringybark Creek - Aus 7 Modellers Group (O Scale)

AMRA/HMRS Award Exhibitors Choice
Eskbank - David Low (HO Scale)
Dawson's Creek - Pacific Northwest Rail Services (N Scale)

Sydney N Scale MRC Award
Best N Scale Layout Setagaya - Doug Coster (N Scale)

Hannah Kelly Memorial Award
Best Scenery Bellbird - Colin Veale (N Scale)

Iron Horse Hobbies Award
Best Proprietary Layout Setagaya - Doug Coster (N Scale)

Larmour Family "Wombat" Award
Best Children's Layout LEGO Town - Sydney Lego Train club
Highly Commended Setagaya - Doug Coster (N Scale)

Most Popular Exhibit Public Vote
Setagaya - Doug Coster (N Scale)

Punchbowl Hobbies train set won by P Newman, Merrylands

Guessing Competition

  1. J Every, Sydney (Layout)
  2. W Melville, Sydney (Austrains NR locomotive)
  3. J Nash, Sydney (Austrains NR locomotive)
  4. L Atkin, Belfield (Powerline Train Set)
  5. G. Macklin, Sydney (Trainorama 44 locomotive)
  6. G. Larmour, Sysney (Auscission coal hopper pack)
  7. R Stokes, Annandale (Train Trader voucher)
  8. R Merrick, Sydney (Trainorama louvre wagon pack)
  9. F Heaton, Doonside (Trainorama guards van pack)
  10. J Macklin, QLD (Shooting Through! DVD)
  11. K Higginson, Sydney (Silvermaz brake van kit)
  12. Stuart, Burwood North (Mercedes-Benz plaque)
  13. M Nash, Marrickville (Kerroby Models voucher)
  14. M West, Newtown (Embroidery set)

Stands 2006

  • Alco World
  • AMRA NSW: U-Drive
  • AMRA NSW: O Gauge Display
  • AMRA NSW Modelling Competition
  • AMRA NSW Ladies' Auxiliary Needles & Natter
  • AMRA NSW Guessing Competition
  • AMRA NSW Information Stand
  • AMRM / Eveleigh Press / SCMRA
  • Anton's Trains
  • AR Kits
  • Auran Games Pty Ltd: Auran Trainz
  • Aus 7 Modellers Group: Stringybark Creek
  • Aus7 Modellers Group Inc.
  • Auscision Models
  • Austrains Pty Ltd
  • Australian Railway Historical Society NSW Division
  • Burfitt Medical: Running With Scissors
  • Casula Hobbies
  • Chuck's Ballast Supplies
  • Coffs Harbour Module Special Interest Group
  • Epping Model Railway Club: Brunswick Park
  • Eureka Models
  • Forest Miniatures
  • Frate-N
  • Guildford Model Railway Group: Moss Vale
  • Gwydir Valley Models
  • Hanovale Model Castings
  • Historic Electric Traction
  • Illawarra Model Railway Association: Danville
  • Iron Horse Hobbies
  • J & K Hobbies: TRACKRITE
  • Keiran Ryan Models
  • Kerroby Models
  • Model Railway Wizard
  • North Shore Railway Modellers Association Inc.: Dungog
  • NSW 'N' Scale Group: Illabo
  • NSW Rail Transport Museum
  • Orient Express Model Railway Shop
  • Pacific Northwest Rail Services: Dawson's Creek
  • Pallas Hobbies
  • Powerline Models Pty Ltd
  • Punchbowl Hobby Centre Pty Ltd
  • Remote Control Systems
  • Sydney Electric Train Society Inc.
  • Sydney Lego Train Club: Lego Town
  • Sydney N Scale Model Railway Club Inc.: Water Street
  • Sydney Tramway Museum
  • Team-ALCO
  • The Model Railroad Craftsman
  • The N Scaler
  • The Train Shed
  • The Train Shed: "Thomas" Ride
  • Toy Collectables Pty Ltd
  • Trackside Trees
  • Train World Pty Ltd
  • Trains Planes & Automobiles
  • Warrimoo Model Railway Club: Karabar
  • Wholesale Trophies: Chatahoochie Lumber & Mining
  • Setagaya
  • Hope Coast Railway
  • Smaldon Curve
  • Back of Beyond
  • Cumberland
  • Great Falls
  • Southern Revisited
  • Spokane Northern
  • Duck Creek
  • Oak Point Crossing
  • King's Loop
  • Gunning
  • Kentucky Division Oakdale
  • Bellbird
  • Rzepin
  • Eskbank c.1899
  • Time and Patience

home | news | about us | exhibition | find us | layouts | features | calendar | links

AMRA NSW is dedicated to promoting the hobby of model railways throughout New South Wales.
These pages last updated 16 June, 2017 by Damien George.