Australian Model Railway Association NSW Inc.

Return to the home page Find out more about AMRA NSW Read all about our huge annual model railway exhibition Find where AMRA NSW is located Read about how AMRA NSW got where it is today Read about the layouts at the AMRA NSW clubrooms See some of the features on the site Find out what's on at AMRA NSW Go to other sites of interest

Exhibition 2010

Each year, the Exhibition awards prizes for various aspects of the event: modelling competition, layout awards, popular votes and of course the guessing competition. In 2010 they were as follows:

Modelling Competition Results

Scratchbuilt Locomotives

  1. N Scale Z20 Class Locomotive, 90 points, James Sanders
  2. O Scale 422 Class Locomotive, 75 points, Lance Pickering and Colin Shepherd
  3. N Scale Steam Tram Motor, 74 points, Graeme Goodsell

Scratchbuilt Rolling Stock

  1. N Scale MB Refrigerator Van, 88 points, Ian Wales
  2. N Scale BKD Prison Van, 90 points, Graeme Goodsell
  3. HO Scale RQRX Locomotive Underframe Wagon, 79 points, Matthew Joiner

Scratchbuilt Lineside Structure

  1. N Scale Molong Goods Shed, 94 points, Graeme Goodsell
  2. N Scale Toronto Station, 92 points, James Sanders
  3. N Scale Station Masters Cottage, 88 points, Ian Wales

Kitbased Motive Power

  1. N Scale 38 Class Locomotive, 84 points, Ian Wales
  2. HO Scale 82 Class Locomotive, 81 points, Mike Crompton
  3. HO Scale B (205) Class Locomotive, 79 points, Phillip Skelton

Kitbased Rolling Stock

  1. N Scale CCA Car, 88 points, James Sanders
  2. N Scale DOT Rail Tank Car, 87 points, Graeme Goodsell
  3. HO NSWGR KT Wagon with load, 68 points, Kevin Tiernan

Kitbased Lineside Structure - Nil entries

School Students Encouragement Award

  1. HO Scale ROBX Steel Wagon, 70 points, Mark Dalli
  2. HO Scale K Wagon, 69 points, Sam Cawdell-Smith/HO Scale OCY Container Wagon, 69 points, Mark Dalli

President's Cup - Sydney Central Station - Ross Balderson

Exhibit Awards

Best Layout -Muskrat Ramble - Geoff Knott (On30 Scale)

Australian Prototype - Private  - Sydney Central Station - Ross Balderson (N Scale)

Australian Prototype - Club - Brisbane Water – Epping Model Railway Club(HO Scale)

Overseas Prototype - Private - Muskrat Ramble - Geoff Knott (On30 Scale)

Overseas Prototype - Club - Coffs Harbour - Coffs Harbour Railway Modellers (HO Scale)

Best Commercial Exhibit - Trains, Planes and Automobiles

Highly Commended: - Time and Patience(HO Scale)

AMRA/HMRS Award Exhibitors Choice - Sydney Central Station - Ross Balderson (N Scale)

Sydney N Scale MRC Award -South Creek – NSW N Scale Group (N Scale)
Best N Scale Layout

Hannah Kelly Memorial Award - Sydney Central Station - Ross Balderson (N Scale)
Best Australian Scenery

Iron Horse Hobbies Award - Sydney Central Station - Ross Balderson (N Scale)
Best Proprietary Layout

Larmour Family "Wombat" Award - Lego City -
Best Childrens Layout

Most Popular Exhibit Vote -Muskrat Ramble - Geoff Knott (On30 Scale)
Prize G Copper- (Punchbowl Hobbies train set)

Guessing Competition

  1. B Pertzel - (Layout and train set)
  2. M Parsons - (NR Locomotive Southern Spirit) Donated by Austrains
  3. G Hart - (42 Class Locomotive) Donated by Tom's Hobbies
  4. K Kempe - (NDFF Ballast Hoppers) Donated by Auscision
  5. J Davidson - (Thomas Train Set) Donated by Hobbyco
  6. D Drysdale - (PRRY Container Wagon) Donated by Auscision
  7. T Mamacastri – ($100.00 Gift Voucher) Donated by Iron Horse Hobbies
  8. P Hepburn – (Beginners Kit) Donated by Modratec
  9. S Haynes – (Framed Picture) Donated by Gwyder Valley Models
  10. G Nelson – (Portrait of a Classic Book) Donated by AMRM
  11. F Bellissimo – (Four DVDs) Donated by Train Pictures
  12. C Dooley – (Set of 5 DVDs Donated by Keiran Ryan Models
  13. D Moffat – (Micro Trains Bogies) Donated by Frate-N
  14. L Grobbelaan – (Engine Portrait Book) Donated by AMRM
  15. D Thornton – (A Centry of Central Book) Donated by ARHS
  16. J Bin - ($50.00 Gift Voucher) Donated by Kerroby Models
  17. P Butler – (Station Building Kit) Donated by Casula Hobbies
  18. L Cronin – (Byways of Steam 27 Book) Donated by AMRM
  19. R Morris - (Clydes among the Cane Book) Donated by AMRM
  20. B Jones – (Storage Box) Donated by Auscision
  21. A Lloyd – (Brake Van) Donated by Eureka Models
  22. N Whelan – (Jigsaw Puzzle) Donated by Forest Miniatures
  23. J Davidson – (Set of 4 Vehicles) Donated by Model Railway Craftsman
  24. J Thompson – (Voucher) Donated by J & K Hobbies
  25. G Midson – (Along Parallel Lines Book) Donated by ARHS
  26. D Saunders – (A Railway Man's Journey Book) Donated by ARHS
  27. P Langdon – (From Grease to Gold Braid Book) Donated by ARHS
  28. B West – (Mercy Trains Book) Donated by ARHS
  29. B Palmer – (Giants of Steam Book) Donated by ARHS
  30. T Smith – (Colonial Engineer Book) Donated by ARHS
  31. J Scott – (Australian Tree) Donated by Auscision
  32. S Matikainen - (Bag of Ballast) Donated by Chuck's Ballast
  33. A Jeffery – (Calendar) Donated by Train Pictures
  34. L Pickering – (Trains Calendar Large) Donated by Popmill Pty Ltd
  35. B Pertzel - (Trains calendar Small) Donated by Popmill Pty Ltd
  36. K Gilmore - (Steam Train Postcards Book) Donated by Popmill Pty Ltd
  37. M Chapman - (Trams Postcard Book) Donated by Popmill Pyt Ltd
  38. G Larmour - (DVD) Donated by Frate-N
  39. B Dhazier - (Model Railway Shop Kit) Donated by AOrient Express
  40. D Asell - (LWB Box Van) Donated by Orient Express
  41. B Forrest - (Set of Pliers) Donated by Tinkering Tools
  42. A Katsonis - (Train Simulator Add On) Donated by Alco World
  43. J Pangalllo - (Set of 10 Pictures) Donated by Trains Planes & Automobiles

home | news | about us | exhibition | find us | layouts | features | calendar | links

AMRA NSW is dedicated to promoting the hobby of model railways throughout New South Wales.
These pages last updated 16 June, 2017 by Damien George.